Summer 2020 Juried Exhibition

July 7 – 25, 2020

Juror: MARTICA SAWIN, Art Historian, Critic

Virtual Exhibition

Online Catalog with essay by juror and statements by artists.  Link  to view  


Blue Mountain Gallery’s 8th Annual Juried Exhibition showcases a variety of perspectives and practices within the contemporary visual arts. Juried by the art historian, curator, and critic Martica Sawin, this exhibition includes the work of 52 artists and unites a multitude of voices, both local and national. The careful selection of work by prominent members of the artworld has been a tradition in this series. Recent jurors include the nationally prominent art critic John Yau, the artists Stanley Lewis and John Dubrow, and curators and gallerists specializing in contemporary works, such as Betty Cuningham and Priscilla Vail Caldwell.


Art historian and critic Martica Sawin has spent more than a half century covering contemporary art in print and in the classroom. As an historian she has focused especially on Surrealism; her book, Surrealism in Exile and the Beginning of the New York School has become a classic and was the basis for major museum exhibitions she curated in Europe.  Sawin is the author of books on Nell Blaine, Wolf Kahn, Yves Tanguy, Gordon Onslow Ford, and Stephen Pace, among others, as well as many essays for museum and gallery exhibition catalogs.  From 1970 to 1995 she chaired the art history department at Parsons School of Design and was the founding director of Parsons in Paris. For more information go to

also seen at ARTSY Exhibition with prices

Click on image to enlarge and see information including website links for almost all.  Individual images may be liked, shared, tweeted.


Artists in the exhibition:
Yura Adams, Mary J. Arthur, Steve Bennett, John Benton, Sandra Bertrand, Lesley Bodzy, Silvere
Boureau, Pamela Bowers, Carol Carus, Kyle Chaput, Carey Conaway, Erin Cordle, Donna Corvi, Marsha
Doran, Lori Evensen, Arlene Farenci, Diane Fitch, Alexa Frangos, Mack Gingles, Larry Gordon, Lucy Julia
Hale, Caroline Harman, Lynette K. Henderson Joseph Holsapple, Mark Hopkins, Hall Jameson, Catherine
Kuzma, Linda Larsen, Elizabeth Magee, Shawn Marshall, Colleen McGuire, Robert Morrissey, Paul
Murray, Noreen Naughton, Melinda Neger, David Orban, Micheal Ousley, Valerie Patterson, Ron Prigat,
Scott Raynor, Emil Robinson, Lauren Schiller, Gary Schwartz, Deborah Sherman, Mary Ellen Sisulak,
Natalie Sobo, Gillian Wainwright, Katie Weiss, Tony Wells, Scott Wheelock, Judith Wyer, Conan Zhao






Blue Mountain Gallery | 547 W. 27th Street, Suite 200 , New York, NY 10001 | Wednesday-Saturday noon-6PM | Phone: 646-486-4730

© Copyright Blue Mountain Gallery